Ariège is divided into 4 regions -- the Couserans, which has a distinct identity, the foothills and the plain or the "doors to the Ariège" in relation to Toulouse, the "Cathar Pyrenees" which is considered part of Languedoc and the Foix and High Ariège that is bisected by the Ariège River. The shaded area of the map represents the mountainous part of the department.


Many thanks to these photographers

About us

From 2000 to the end of 2017 was a site devoted to tourism in the department of Ariège. The small company that managed it closed on 31 December 2017 and 2018 will be a year of transition. Read more…